fbpx

Course Content

Module 0: Getting Started
Module 1: Building your Website
Module 2: SEO
Module 3: Web Analytics
Module 4: Email Marketing
Module 5: Search Engine Marketing (SEM)
Module 6: Social Media Marketing
Module 7: Facebook and Instagram Ads
Graduation

0.13 Choosing a domain name

Now, you are about to choose your first domain name for your website.

You will have it included for free with your hosting with our deal with Hostgator here.

You will ask yourself, what domain name shall I choose for my course website?

Here are a couple of guidelines to keep in mind:

  1. Aim to stick with .com extensions
  2. If your desired .com is taken, .net is a good option
  3. Something easy to pronounce and spell
  4. Your name is perfect for a personal website
  5. Try to keep your domain name short

Have a look at the domains from my list of 100 blog income reports, and use that to inspire your own journey.

If you are out of ideas, feel free to attend my weekly Instagram live office hours (you will get access soon), or just ask our tutors in the chat widget on the bottom right.

Subscribe
Notify of
45 Comments
Oldest
Newest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Soe Moe Aung
7 months ago

Dear Tutor,

I facing the problem to making the domin account. Please give me an advise how to do it.

Jambay Dorji
7 months ago

I am Jambay Dorji from Bhutan. A small nation with big people!

Ahmed Muhaidin Oon (@ahmed-muhaidin-oon)
7 months ago

hi everyone! I am from Somali. I would like to benefit from this course.

Mumin Ul Bari (@mumin-ul-bari)
6 months ago

Hello!
i'm in confusion!
i have already a xyz extension domain. is it worthy? to start or should i buy a new domain with com or net extension?

Mumin Ul Bari (@mumin-ul-bari)
6 months ago
Reply to  Scott Max

I have another question, i can take a .tech extension domain free by using my edu mail. Should i get this?

Urjita Medhe
6 months ago

Hi,
I want to choose domain name related freelancing and digital marketing expert, please suggest me some name.

6 months ago

hello, i really want to take this course
but i just bought about 2 months ago, a domain name itechs.site with a year hosting at Bluehost.
It's the domaine of my business i wish to use for this course.
From what i see up to here, i should delete/forget this one and buy new one at hostgator..

i'm loosing money (that i dont yet have)
can't i use this ?
pleading

Last edited 6 months ago by TCHABE NGNIA TEXTONE
Ivano Piedade (@ivano-piedade)
6 months ago

Hello tutor,

I'm trying to spend the less i can since my budget is really thin so i have question, are any of the ad-ons that hostgator offers extremely necessary ?

Abdale ahmed
6 months ago

Hi how are you

Yacine Limane (@yacine-limane)
5 months ago

Hello,
I really want to take this course, and I thank you for this precious opportunity that you are giving us here, the problem is that right now and I don't have a credit card, I don't have many choices here in Algeria, the process of getting a credit card can take a while.

However, I have recently created a website with a ".wordpress.com" free domain name, can I use this one, just to keep up with the course, until I get the necessary money and the credit card to buy a HostGator domain name before the end of the course because I really want to follow this course and get the certification.

Could you tell me, please?

Cyrus Kipsang (@cyrus-kipsang)
5 months ago

Hello, I have another website but not hosted by hostgator. I would like to take the course with mine but before end of my course I'll make preparations to purchase domain from hostgator for certification. Is it possible?

Kaweesa Hassan (@kaweesa-hassan)
5 months ago

Dear Tutor,
I have just checked with hostgator and the discounted amount for for a hatchling package is 104.02dollers. kindly clarify. Thank you.

Catherine Osai
4 months ago

I am having difficulty with choosing a domain name, could you help please

OMAR MOHMAED ABDELLATIF HUSSEIN (@omar-hussein)
3 months ago

Hi my name is Omar Mohamed Hussein i was looking for help to choose the domain name. I will make the website to introduce myself and my skills to use it as personal CV.

Steward Mwanza (@steward-mwanza)
3 months ago

Which web hosting are you using or which web hosting is this site on?

Emmanuel Sahr Tengbeh
2 months ago

Hi Everyone, I am Emmanuel Sahr Tengbeh from Sierra Leone and I am happy that you're offering this course for free.. Very much appreciated and Thanks

Climentine
2 months ago

hello so what if I want to use .co.za extension for my domain instead of .com is it possible?

Thae Myat Mon
2 months ago

Hello sir,This course is very effective for me

Olayiwola Toluwani
2 months ago

I’m new here, from Nigeria. Thanks to Scottmax for this privilege

2 months ago

hello Tutor ,

can you please help me in choosing my domain or which advice would give me ?

Marwa Hamed (@marwa-hamed)
2 months ago

Dear Tutor,

I'm facing difficulty in choosing a domain name because I need to use this domain for my future business this is why I don't want the domain to be my name.

I need your advice, please.

Thanks in advance.

Juliana Aziza (@juliana-aziza)
2 months ago

HI
Iwant to know which package HOSTGATOR is useful for this course : hatchling, baby and business

thanks!

Glory Aminu
1 month ago
Reply to  Scott Max

will i still be charged monthly for hatchling?

Niamat ullah
1 month ago

How can i submit the assignments i no have idea a out that please guide me.

Abdur Rahman (@abdur-rahman)
1 month ago

I am from Bangladesh how to get hosting and domain.

Jick Julius Bohteh (@jick-julius-bohteh)
1 month ago

Good day sir's, please if my device does not support screenshot option, what other way can I take.
thanks
jick Julius bohteh

Frank Msacky (@frank-msacky)
1 month ago

I am ready pay for hostgator, what i want to know is this do I supposed to set my website myself or after pay i will continue undestand through module

Nur Said (@nur-said)
1 month ago

In the comments you recommended using a personal brand as a first site, how is it possible to change that site into anything we want can you please elaborate, thanks in advance!

abdalla raage (@abdalla-raage)
1 month ago

the link hostgator is not valid when you click you can not reach

Nusrat Rabbani (@nusrat-rabbani)
1 month ago

Hello Tutor,
Before reaching this lesson I got a link in mail (from Scott max) and then I bought a domain from hostgator from that link. At that time I didn’t know we have to stick with .com or .net. My domain name is e-pharma.club.
Would it be a problem for assignment or certificate?

henok
1 month ago

is HF.come is fine for my domain name

45
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x